Michigan, like every state, has established speed limits on roadways across the state. The main goal of these speed limits is to keep everyone safe by preventing speeding and reckless driving. Speed limits are determined by what is believed to be the safest speed for the flow of traffic on a particular roadway. However, the state of Michigan has a Basic Speed Law, which means that, sometimes, driving the speed limit could be considered speeding.
The Basic Speed Law
The Basic Speed Law in Michigan says that motorists must drive at a “careful and prudent speed not greater than nor less than is reasonable and proper, having due regard to the traffic, surface and width of the highway and of any other condition existing at the time.” The law also says that drivers cannot drive at a speed that will prevent them from stopping within the assured, clear distance ahead. In other words, drivers must always operate motor vehicles at a safe speed.
The circumstances a driver faces on any particular day will determine what the safe speed is. For example, on a sunny day, 55 mph might be a safe speed. However, if it’s dark and the road is snow-covered and icy, driving 55 mph would be considered dangerous and, thus, a violation of the basic speed law. Those who drive too slow can also violate the basic speed law. A driver who is driving 10 mph on the interstate when all other vehicles are going 70 mph would be dangerous and could lead to a citation.
Speed limits are put in place to protect all motorists on the roadway. Unfortunately, there will always be those who choose to break the speed limit and drive recklessly. Any person in Michigan who suffers injury in a car accident caused by a negligent driver has the right to pursue legal recourse. By contacting a skilled litigator and filing a lawsuit, victims could be awarded much-needed compensation for their pain and suffering.